Spring Flag Results 2011

2011 Provincial Championships

BCCFA 4th annual Provincial Flag Football TournamentsU18 – Sunday, June 5th in Vancouver, BC on O’Hagan field at Vancouver College High School7 teams completed pool play & championship playoffs

Vancouver Westside Packers defeated Vancouver Westside Falcons

U18 Team BC members – Daniel LaVenture & Justin Sanvido leading the Packers

June 11th & 12th in Kelowna, BC at the Capital News Centre Sports complex

700+ athletes on 64 teams in 3 age divisions (u12, u14 & u16) with over 100 coaches, 50+ referees and hundreds of families took part in the 2 day tournament. Teams from Vancouver, Richmond, South Delta, Surrey, Coquitlam, Chilliwack, Kelowna & Prince George participated. Host association Kelowna Minor football did an outstanding job hosting the event for the 4th year in a row. Big thank you’s to lead volunteers Gerry Dirksen, Tanya Cochrane and KMFA president Chris Smith. The Okanagan Sun Junior football team provided 14 players to support officiating as well as varsity football players from both UBC & SFU.

Senior volunteers ex-VMFL president, Gord Bath, VMFL president, Paul Sparrow, VMFL Head Coach director, Shane Thompson, Langley Minor Football registrar, Cory Pawluk, Chilliwack Minor football president, Wayne Bjorge, VCFL-vp, Lance Milligan, Football BC, Claudia Stefanon, BCCFA Spring flag football coordinator, Doug Pauls and BCCFA president, Joe Gluska made up the lead administrative team for the tournament. As a result of these individuals involvement, up to 20 games at a time in 5 different locations were run simultaneously every 45 minutes from 9 am to 5 pm on Saturday & 9 am to 1:30 pm on Sunday. A lot of great football was played!

2011 saw the introduction of the u12 division. 15 teams participated with the South Delta Colts becoming the inaugural Provincial Champions at U12.

The 25 team U14 division saw the Okanagan Mission Saints dominate play and bring home the Provincial title for the host Kelowna Minor football association.

In the 22 team U16 division championship game saw a rematch of the 2010 semi-final game between the Vancouver Westside Packers led by QB Luke Frigon vs the Coquitlam Flacons lead by Chase Malcolm, Kevin Marshall and Malcolm Lee. It was a hard fought battle but ultimately the Flacons were able to finish the 2011 season undefeated. The Coquitlam Flacons now move on to represent BC at the National Flag football Championship tournament at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

But the truly outstanding part of the tournament occurred in consolation play where U12 coaches benched any player that did not have a smile on his face in the battle for 9th & 10th place. Or teams in the U14 playoff bracket II for 17th to 25th placement saw tight, enthusiastically played games. In this tournament, even though only one team finished as a champion in each division, any boy that worked hard, supported his teammates and had fun playing football left the weekend a winner!

Thank you coaches & all volunteers for your support of the 2011 BCCFA Provincial flag football tournament.

Doug Pauls
BCCFA Flag Coordinator

2011 Provincial Championships Results

1 South Delta Colts
2 Vancouver Westside Giants
3 Richmond Raiders
4 North Surrey Steelers
5 Coquitlam Eagles
6 Vancouver Westside Jets
7 Prince George Axemen
8 Okanagan-Mission Seahawks
9 Vancouver Westside Falcons
10 Coquitlam Saints
11 North Surrey Patriots
12 Langley Chargers
13 Langley Packers
14 West Kelowna Ravens
15 Okanagan-Mission Saints
1 Okanagan Mission Saints
2 Richmond Broncos
3 Langley Eagles
4 Vancouver Westside Packers
5 Chilliwack Jets
6 Okanagan Mission Cowboys
7 North Surrey Vikings
8 Chilliwack Bears
9 Rutland Ravens
10 Okanagan Mission Chargers
11 Coquitlam Steelers
12 West Kelowna Patriots
13 Langley Buccaneers
14 Vancouver Westside Giants
15 Vancouver 49ers
16 Chilliwack Seahawks
17 Coquitlam Titans
18 Vancouver Westside Colts
19 Coquitlam Rams
20 Richmond Raiders
21 North Surrey Saints
22 Coquitlam Falcons
23 Prince George Axemen
24 Langley Dolphins
25 Chilliwack Chiefs
1 Coquitlam Falcons
2 Vancouver Westside Packers
3 Kelowna Colts
4 North Surrey Head Seahawks
5 Vancouver Westside Vikings
6 Langley Patriots
7 Kelowna Chargers
8 Coquitlam Steelers
9 North Surrey Bears
10 Vancouver Westside Giants
11 South Delta Ravens
12 Coquitlam Colts
13 Langley Eagles
14 North Surrey Broncos
15 Kelowna Saints
16 Vancouver Westside Jets
17 Kelowna Ravens
18 Prince George Axemen A
19 Vancouver Westside Chiefs
20 Chilliwack Falcons
21 Vancouver 49ers
22 Prince George Axemen B
1 Vancouver Westside Packers
2 Vancouver Westside Falcons
3 Burnaby Chiefs
4 Coquitlam Titans
5 North Surrey Saints
6 Vancouver Westside Giants
7 South Delta Colts