BEARS WIN! Provincial Champs!

Bears champs 2014 North Surrey Minor Football would like to acknowledge and congratulate all the players, coaches, managers, trainers and parents of our Midget Bears for bringing home the BCCFA Midget Provincial Championship this past weekend, November 29, 2014, over the Langley Stampeders at McLeod Stadium. Final Score, 28-21!

It couldn’t have been a more exciting game as the Bears battled back from a 21-7 deficit to tie the game in the closing minutes to force the game into a shootout overtime session, pulling it out in the second round of the shootout with a touchdown pass from Colby Peters to Emeka Okuma as the rigid defense held their ground to shut down the Stampeders offense.

We would also like to congratulate the Eagles for an amazing effort in the Junior Bantam Provincial Final earlier in the day. They put on a great show against the Victoria Renegades all star team, but fell 18-6 in the freezing cold. It was a fantastic season for the Eagles.

Congratulations to the following individuals for their outstanding efforts:

  • Jamel Lyles #22, Bears Game MVP
  • Josh Jeyamanharon #28, Midget Game Most Sportsmanlike
  • Antonio S. Pamintuan #1, Eagles Game MVP
  • Omar Hanif #12, JB Game Most Sportsmanlike

Additional info can be found here: ⇒ VMFL ⇐  ⇒ Football BC ⇐

If you have photos you’d like to share from either game, please send them here to be posted in a gallery.

Email Photos

JB Eagles

Midget Bears

Professional Photo Gallery here →

Bears Championship Roster

1 Bash Sise-Odaa
2 Nathan Brown
3 Colby Peters
4 Colton Cave
5 Max Joseph
6 David Lagou
7 Rahshon Loobie
9 Devante Wilson
10 Shawn Domingo
12 Sam Malana
14 Rahim Mohammed
16 Jordan Gamez
18 Emeka Okuma
20 Tayo Akinbobola
22 Jamel Lyles
24 Jake Bracey
28 Josh Jeyamanoharo
32 Jerald Leonardo
33 Willy Brenner
34 Geordelon Gamez
41 Connor Barron
45 Chris Thornton
50 Gabe Mendoza
51 Jesse Chrysler
52 Kole Lochbaum
55 Nick Carroll
57 Alain Magante
60 Jordan Bergh
61 Yakub Bhamji
63 Kyle Nelson
65 Rohit Pooni
68 Chris Polant
77 Oso Okojie
79 Joshua Zacarias
80 Mark Leonardo
81 Cole Hartley
84 Simon Odong
85 Josh Zivny
87 Lucas De Souza
88 Deshaun Kular
90 Inder Sahota
98 Eakam Virk

Bears Coaching Staff

Head Coach Kim Walters
Offensive Coordinator Derek Henneberry
Defensive Coordinator Howie Zaron
Assistant Coaches Jim Head
Brian Taylor
Jim Booth
Mike Carroll
Scott Styles
Managers Cathy Peters
Debbie Carroll
Trainer Sue Charles
Assistant Trainer Karen Bracey
Video Tech Arwin Leonardo